“Come to Me”…

Come to me, all you who are toiling and loaded down, and I will refresh you. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am mild-tempered and lowly in heart, and you will find refreshment for yourselves.  For my yoke is kindly, and my load is light.
========================================

Jesus said: “Come to me.” One way to respond to that invitation is to attend meetings regularly. There is good reason to be present, for on another occasion Jesus stated: “Where there are two or three gathered together in my name, there I am in their midst.”

In the first century, Jesus personally invited various people to follow him. He thus gave them the opportunity to enjoy close association with him. Some accepted immediately.  Others let such things as material interests stop them from accepting that invitation. To those who did follow him, Jesus made this reassuring statement: “You did not choose me, but I chose you.

After his death and resurrection, Christ was no longer physically present with his disciples. But he was still with them in the sense that he directed their activity and observed their response to his counsel. For example, some 70 years after his resurrection, Jesus gave counsel and encouragement to seven congregations in Asia Minor. His comments showed an intimate knowledge of the strengths and weaknesses of the individuals in those congregations.

Jesus is still keenly interested in each of his disciples. He promises: “Look! I am with you all the days until the conclusion of the system of things.”  We are now living in the time of the end, and we therefore need to act on Jesus’ invitation to follow him. In part, doing so requires that we attend meetings regularly. Jesus wants us to listen to him and to be “taught by means of him” through Bible-based studies and talks that are regular features of the meetings.  Are you responding to Jesus’ invitation: “Come to me”?

~ by DJ Camstar on 27/09/2015.

Leave a Reply

 
