“Remain in My Love”

Just as the Father has loved me, so I have loved you; remain in my love.  If you observe my commandments, you will remain in my love, just as I have observed the commandments of the Father and remain in his love.
“These things I have spoken to you, so that my joy may be in you and your joy may be made full.”
================================On his final night as a human, Jesus also told his apostles: “He that has my commandments and observes them, that one is he who loves me. In turn he that loves me will be loved by my Father.” (John 14:21) “Remain in my love,” he urged them. (John 15:9) How does remaining in the love of the Father and of the Son help us in our battle with sinful inclinations within us and with the wicked world outside?

Well, can we really control bad tendencies if we lack strong motivation to do so? What greater incentive can there be than the desire to have a good relationship with Jehovah God and his Son? Ernesto,* a young man who fought a hard battle against the immoral life-style that he had lived since his early teens, explains: “I wanted to please God, and I learned from the Bible that he did not approve of the way I was living. So I decided to be a different sort of person, to abide by God’s guidelines. Every day, I had to fight against negative, dirty thoughts that still came flooding into my mind. But I was determined to win this battle, and I prayed incessantly for God’s help. After two years the worst was over, although I am still strict with myself.”

As to the battle with the world outside, consider the closing prayer Jesus offered before leaving that upper room in Jerusalem. In behalf of his disciples, he prayed to his Father and asked: “I request you, not to take them out of the world, but to watch over them because of the wicked one. They are no part of the world, just as I am no part of the world.” (John 17:15, 16) How reassuring! Jehovah watches over those whom he loves and strengthens them as they keep separate from the world.

~ by DJ Camstar on 19/01/2015.

Leave a Reply

 
